backstage at van fashion week

The posts were a bit sparse this week because I don’t usually schedule posts and as you can tell from my Twitter feed I was busy helping out at Vancouver Fashion Week as part of my internship.

It was quite an experience.  At times it was hectic and exciting but  there was also more downtime than I expected.  I got the chance to work with the designers closely to help execute their vision for their show and also helped the models do quick changes during and between shows. And for the first and probably last time, I walked the runway myself as  a model.  One of the design students from my school made his pieces too short for the regular models so he asked some other students to walk for him.

I had the opportunity to work closely with Banchong Douangphrachanh for her collection BD Homme.  She was a dream to work with and I thought her show went great!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I helped dress for the last day of shows on Sunday.  My favorites that day were Eva Chen Couture and RG Sanchez.  One of the models loved the dress that she wore for RG Sanchez so much that she asked if she could buy it.  I adored the coats with the fur on them and the blue sequined pants. So beautiful! The skirts and the red dresses from Eva Chen were amazing.

I missed out on some of the shows because I wasn’t there for the full 5 days so I watched the video stream on the VFW site.  Also, since I was backstage I didn’t really get to watch the shows so it was nice getting to see it on video.  The ones I was disappointed I didn’t get to see were the much anticipated Vawk and Vawkkin collections from Sunny Fong and Ha Sang Beg’s show.

I wish I had better photos from my experience but I didn’t bring a camera with me and there were times when I was too busy to take pictures of the amazing clothes and makeup that I saw.

There’s more photos and videos on the Van Fashion Week site and on their Facebook page.  And be sure to check out the rest of the LaSalle College students’ shows!

Leave a Reply

