books and movies

I’ve finished “Kitchen Confidential” by Anthony Bourdain, “My Life in France” by Julia Child, “Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking” by Malcolm Gladwell,  and “The Time Traveler’s Wife” by Audrey Niffenegger.

I love Anthony Bourdain.  Love his show on the Travel Network, No Reservations.  That would be the best job in the world, to get to travel and eat your way around the world.  The book is well-written and entertaining and his personality shines through.

Got inspired to read “My Life in France” because I watched “Julie and Julia” with my mom and my sister.  “Julie and Julia” wasn’t bad.  More Julia would’ve been nice.  No offense to Amy Adams, I’m sure she’s a wonderful actress but Meryl Streep stole the show as Julia.  Amy Adams starred as blogger, Julie Powell who became famous for cooking through Julia’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” in a year and documenting her efforts on her blog.  A whole movie just about Julia would’ve been better.  Her memoir which was written with her grand nephew, Alex Prud’homme was interesting, though.  It documented her life, her travels with husband, Paul Child and her quest to have her book published.

Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking” by Malcolm Gladwell is about “thin-slicing”: our ability to gauge what is really important from a very narrow period of experience. In other words, spontaneous decisions are often as good as—or even better than—carefully planned and considered ones. Gladwell draws on examples from science,advertising, sales, medicine, and popular music to reinforce his ideas. Gladwell also uses many examples of regular people’s experiences with “thin-slicing.”  I found it pretty interesting and it was easy to read.

I read “the Time Traveler’s Wife” by Audrey Niffenegger before my sister left cuz I borrowed it from her.  We were gonna watch it together too but didn’t end up having time to before I left for Las Vegas.  The book was good.  The movie was just okay.  I should probably stop reading the book before I watch the movie that it’s been adapted into because they usually fall short.  Granted, it was pretty faithful to the book which I liked but the pace felt kind of slow and their wasn’t enough character depth and background.  I liked Rachel MacAdams and thought her performance was better than Eric Bana’s.

Now, what should I read next?

Leave a Reply

