harper's bazaar july cover

The July issue of Harper’s bazaar has a double cover featuring model, Doutzen Kroes on one side and on the other, a candid tabloid photo of Angelina Jolie at a Benjamin Button premiere.  Really? ?  I know celebrities on the cover help sell more issues but to resort to a stock image and a fawning writearound article proclaiming the so-called virtues of Angelina Jolie, is it that necessary?  Is the magazine having really dire financial problems?  Leave the gossip and paparazzi photos to the tabloids.  I like my fashion mags free from the dirt.  I gotta admit that the problem for me is compounded because the celebrity is Angelina Jolie, one that I am certainly not a fan of but it doesn’t change the fact that even if it were another celebrity, I’d still feel disappointed about how they chose to do the cover.

Leave a Reply

