happy birthday, marilyn

The iconic blond would be 83 today if she was still alive. I used to watch her movies when I was younger with my mom and sister. My mom introduced my sister and I to musicals so we grew up watching Gene Kelly, Debbie Reynolds, and Marilyn Monroe in other great movies. My mom actually was named after Doris Day.

Viewed as a sex symbol, I think she felt stifled by the label and by living her life in the public eye, she had a rough life growing up and sought love in the limelight and in her numerous marriages. She was more intelligent than people thought but was famous for her “dumb blond” image. She was actually a great dramatic actress but known for her comedic flair. Both enviable and pitiable. Perpetually surrounded by people but so isolated.

Leave a Reply

